What is the QCF?

It's the framework for creating and accrediting qualifications in England, Wales and Northern Ireland and gives a wider range of learners the opportunity to get the qualifications they need, in a way that suits them. 
The QCF is in essence a databank for units of learning; each unit is allocated credits (one credit per 10 hours of learning), with units being combined to create qualifications.
It also standardises naming for qualifications to bring consistency and clarity to the new framework.
The names are determined by a qualification’s size:
  • An Award is worth 1 to 12 credits
  • A Certificate is worth 13 to 36 credits
  • A Diploma is worth 37 credits and above
The result is a clear, flexible and relevant framework for learners, learning providers and employers.

Find out more


Watch the Video

qcf video